Wednesday, February 10, 2016

An Amish Year

An Amish Year 
Published December 8th 2015
 by Thomas Nelson 
4 Stars


   Rooted in Love (previously published in An Amish Garden )
Rosemary Lantz is doing her best to run her family’s household. She excels at all her tasks except one: gardening. Saul Petersheim has pursued Rosemary for years, but Rosemary keeps turning him down. What Saul doesn’t know is that she has good reason—something no one can know—especially not him.
A Love for Irma Rose
The year is 1957, and young Irma Rose has a choice to make. Date the man who is “right” for her? Or give Jonas a chance, the wild and reckless suitor who refuses to take no for an answer?  Irma Rose steps onto the path she believes God has planned for her, but when she loses her footing, she is forced to rethink her choice.
Patchwork Perfect
Eli Byler has been a widower for two years when he chooses to make a fresh start in Paradise, Pennsylvania. As Eli juggles the admiration of two women, he meets Miriam Fisher—the most unconventional Amish woman he’s ever met. She doesn’t fit the mold for what Eli is looking for, but it isn’t long before Eli realizes that Miriam is everything he wants. But Miriam has no plans to get married—ever.  Will Eli be able to change her mind?
When Christmas Comes Again (previously published in An Amish Second Christmas )
Katherine knows the first Christmas without Elias will be hard for her and the children. But when a mysterious Englischer appears with photographs of her late husband, Katherine begins to wonder what other blessings Christmas could have in store.

Here's a wonderful video that will give you a hint about the stories this book contains:


My Thoughts:
Thomas Nelson and Beth Wiseman released this book December 8, 2015 and I had plans to review this at an earlier date, but to be honest with the holidays I got behind on my reading.  
A lot of people wonder why a reader picks certain books over others, well for me it is generally the cover that attracts me then the description on the back is the selling point.  With this book the cover is beautiful, summer day with a horse and buggy prominently displayed and in the background a red barn.  I have never been to Amish country in Pennsylvania, but I believe this picture is a good representation of the area.  I loved how the colors are bright and cheerful.  
The back description describes the book as a collection of 4 Amish novellas that.
Since I am new to reading Amish fiction I love that each story has a glossary of Pennsylvania Dutch words to assist with a better understanding of the language used. Also each story is accompanied by discussion questions at the end of each story.  This gave me the opportunity to reflect on each story and to study each message of faith contained.  
The synopsis gives a good description of each story so I will tell you what I learned from  each story.  
In Roots in Love I learned about the importance of communication.  So many times we are guilty of only hearing what we want to hear as then acting on it.  
A Love for Irma Rose taught me that we can't base our decisions on our wants, but first must ask the Lord for direction in all our decisions.  
Patchwork Perfect taught me about forgiveness not only of others, but also of ourselves.  There's no sin that God will not forgive. 
Lastly, When Christmas Comes Again taught me about not judging others, because no one knows what the other has endured to make choices they have or do.  
Each story brought me back to this verse:
Many are the plans in a man's heart, 
but it is the Lord's purpose that prevails.
   ~Proverbs 19:21

These are four sweet romances that will tug at your heart.  The characters and settings are detailed and perceptive.  Each story line will readily pull you in and keep you turning the pages.   If you are a person who loves Amish fiction then I think you would love this book and I would recommend it to you.  

*I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers 
book review program.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have expressed are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance to the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Available for Purchase:

AmazonBarnes & NobleChristianbook 

Meet the Author:
Beth Wiseman
    Beth Wiseman is the best-selling author of the Daughters of the Promise series and the Land of Canaan series. Having sold over 1.5 million books, her novels have held spots on the ECPA (Evangelical Christian Publishers Association) Bestseller List and the CBA (Christian Book Association) Bestseller List. She was the recipient of the prestigious Carol Award in 2011 and 2013. She is a three-time winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, and an INSPY Award winner. In 2013 she took home the coveted Holt Medallion. Her first book in the Land of Canaan series—Seek Me With All Your Heart—was selected as the 2011 Women of Faith Book of the Year. Beth is contracted with HarperCollins Christian Publishing into the year 2018, and she has published thirteen novels and thirteen novellas to date.
As a former newspaper reporter, Beth was honored by her peers with eleven journalism awards, including first place news writing for The Texas Press Association. She has been a humor columnist for The 1960 Sun in Houston and published articles in various publications. However, writing novels is where her heart is. She left her job as a journalist in 2008 to write novels fulltime.
Connect Online:

No comments:

Post a Comment