Thursday, September 8, 2016

Elite Guardians #2

Without Warning (Elite Guardians, #2)Intensity. Skill. Tenacity.
The bodyguards of Elite Guardians Agency have it all.

Katie Singleton, a partner with the Elite Guardians Protection Agency, stumbles upon her next assignment quite by accident. Spotting blue lights at a familiar restaurant, she stops to investigate, only to discover that owner Daniel Matthews has become the target of someone who will go to any lengths to put him out of business.

Daniel might be concerned, but he's not convinced that a bodyguard--and a female one at that--is necessary. A new attack and his niece's urgings are enough to make him reconsider. He and Katie must figure out who's behind the intimidation and threats--before a would-be killer strikes again.
Published August 2nd 2016
 by Fleming H. Revell Company 

Lynette Eason has been a favorite author of mine for several years.  
The first book I read of hers was When A Heart Stops and was hooked.  I love her writing style.  She has just released the second book in the Elite Guardians series. 
 This series centers around three, young women involved in different forms of law enforcement meet each other in Athens, Greece while attending bodyguard school. After graduation they formed their own company, Elite Guardians, and as the business grew other agents have been hired.  The Elite Guardians is a group of strong women who put their lives in danger to protect others.  Their clientele ranges from someone famous, like a musical star or politician, to just someone feeling they need protection, but also they are contracted through the mayor of Greenville, South Carolina to assist the police when needed.  As a result of this they carry law enforcement powers where they can investigate or arrest should the need arise. 
My Thoughts:
As the story opens we meet Katie Singleton who has just successfully finished an assignment and is headed home to start a much needed vacation.  She has recently purchased the home she had grown up in, a 1920's Charleston-style home that needed lots of TLC.  She had plans to start some renovations on the kitchen and install new cabinets. Of course, plans have a way of changing when she sees police at a local eatery, A Taste of Yesterday.  
Katie is a character I loved immediately.  She thinks fast on her feet and has a tough outer shell, but on the inside she has a soft side.  She likes to control her own destiny.  
Daniel Matthews is a former marine and now the CEO of Taste of Yesterday Inc. which is a chain of local restaurants.  He is very resourceful and full of protective instincts, especially for his niece, Riley. I was pulled to this character from page one.  
This is a fast paced plot from Daniel finding a body of a former employer dead in the basement of one restaurant to learning another is on fire. No, he was not having a good night.  Katie teaches Riley's self defense class so she's familiar with the family and wants to be of assistance.  Her first thought is of Riley's safety, because with her experience she knows these incidents involving Daniel's restaurants are not random.  It looks as though Daniel is the target of something and she plans to find out what that is.  The story flows effortlessly and kept me turning the pages until the end.  The characters are strong and well developed.  This is a romantic suspense, but it is also a good, clean read.
I enjoyed the first book in the series, Always Watching, but I believe this is my favorite.  Even though this book is part of a series I believe it's a stand alone story, but I do recommend with all series to read the other books so you get the full impact of the series.  
I would recommend this story to anyone who loves suspense. 
**I received this book from the author via the publisher for a honest review without bias or outside influence.  

Available for Purchase:
Meet the Author:
Lynette Eason - Author 
Lynette Eason is the best selling, award winning author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, the Hidden Identity Series and the currently releasing Elite Guardians series. She writes for Revell and Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense line. Her books have appeared on the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists. She has won several awards including the 2013 Carol Award for WHEN A HEART STOPS in the Romantic Suspense category. Lynette teaches at writing conferences all over the country. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and Romance Writers of America (RWA).
Connect Online:
Febuary 2017 the much anticipated  final installment in the Elite Guardians series will be available.  
Cover Art

When Maddy McKay and Quinn Holcombe don't show up for Quinn's surprise birthday party, his friends know that something is very wrong. Their search turns up little beyond evidence that Quinn and Maddy just decided to take off for a long overdue vacation. But it soon becomes apparent that they did not leave of their own accord.

Maddy awakens in a cement room with no idea where she is. But it's not long before she realizes she's in the clutches of a madman exacting revenge by hunting. His prey of choice? Humans. Now Maddy and Quinn must run for their lives, hoping to find their killer before the next game begins. Because if they don't win this game, they die.

No comments:

Post a Comment