Thursday, April 28, 2016

Sins of the Past

Sins of the Past 
Expected publication: May 3rd 2016
 by Bethany House Publishers 


Secrets and Lies. Danger That Will Never Go Away.
Join Three Beloved Masters of Romantic Suspense for Novellas Where the Past Will Not Stay Buried.

Dee Henderson - "Missing"A Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing from her retirement community. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two soon launch into a race against the clock when they realize something dark may lie at the heart of the disappearance.

Dani Pettrey - "Shadowed"Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young Alaskan fisherman nets the body of a Russian open water swimming competitor. Another swimmer, who'd been the dead woman's roommate years ago, is pulled into the search for answers as it grows more and more clear that something sinister is at play.

Lynette Eason - "Blackout"A young woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong finds herself at risk years later when the real culprit is up for parole. The loot taken that night has never been found and he believes she knows where it's hidden--only her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety?

My Thoughts:

This is a collection of three novellas by three extremely talented authors.  
Each is a suspenseful romance that revolve around a past mistake or choice.  Each is a wonderful story.  
We start with Missing by Dee Henderson which is set in Chicago. John Graham, police chief in Cheyenne, Wyoming has been notified by the Riverside PD that his mother has been reported missing by the manager of Riverside Retirement Village.  Upon arrival he concludes that Lieutenant Sharon Noble of the Missing Persons Division has pulled in all available resources to search for his mother.  He must confess his greatest concern is whether his past undercover work has spilled over on to his mother now.  Even before leaving Wyoming he had reached out to old friends to start investigating his old cases to look for a connection.  The problem is they are facing the same as Riverside PD all dead ends.  

The second story, Shadowed, by Dani Pettrey takes us to Yancey, Alaska where Libby Jennings arrives to compete in a cold-water swimming competition.  On her downtime she signed up for a whale-watching tour.  During the tour a body is discovered who turns out to be one of Libby's fellow competitor, Russian open water swimmer Katarina Stanic.  Ben McKenna, head of Yancey's Search and Rescue, immediately suspects foul play due to finger mark bruising on her neck.  As the investigation begins accusations are leveled toward Libby because they were strong competitors.  No one knew the true history between Libby and Kat, but Libby was determined to assist with finding her murderer. Unfortunately someone thinks she knows too much and intends to shut her up before it's too late.     

The third story, Blackout, comes from Lynette Eason.  She introduces us to Macey Adams who is haunted by her past.  6 years ago she lost her memory after a horrific attack in her apartment.  With being unable to remember not only her past but also her attack she fled Texas in hopes of starting over. With each move the feeling of being pursued followed her and frightened her.  She has currently moved to the east coast, but danger is lurking.  It could be in the form of her stalker or it could be the Cat 3 Hurricane bearing down on coast.  

Wow, what a collection!!
If you like suspense then this book is definitely for you.  Each story contains complex characters with real issues and edge of your seat suspense.  Each author brings an engaging plot that flows effortlessly with plenty of twists and turns.  This book brings elements of mystery, suspense, romance and faith.  This is definitely a book I would recommend to anyone who loves suspense. 
** I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley for a honest review without bias or outside influence.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  

Available For Purchase:



Meet the Authors:

Dee Henderson 
Dani Pettrey  Dee Henderson is the author of numerous novels, including Taken, Undetected, Unspoken, Full Disclosure, and the acclaimed O'Malley and Uncommon Heroes series. Her books have won or been nominated for several prestigious industry awards, such as the RITA Award, the Christy Award, and the ECPA Gold Medallion. Dee is a lifelong resident of Illinois. Learn more at

Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing's Best Award, among others. 

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves--the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters' faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson. You can find her online at

Lynette EasonLynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series and the Deadly Reunions series, as well as No One to Trust, Nowhere to Turn, and No Place to Hide in the Hidden Identity series. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America. She has a master's degree in education from Converse College and she lives in South Carolina. Learn more at

Bethany House is hosting a Sins of the Past Mystery and Mayhem tour.  


For more information:
Bethany House
Facebook Author Party 

No comments:

Post a Comment